No Lodge.

My dream has always been to create a simple and affordable backcountry ski lodge experience for my community, small groups of regular working people and families. However after years of planning and preparation, navigating the labyrinth of regulation, and on the verge of committing to the construction of Skadi Lodge, I’ve reluctantly decided to abandon my plans.  I scrutinized my spread-sheets, trying to imagine a justifiable way forward, but eventually had to face the reality that I couldn’t make a sensible business case for putting my life savings into this operation. I had hoped that through hard work and creativity I could find the solutions to make it so, but regulatory compliance of all types (licencing, permitting, engineering and insurance etc.) added unavoidable costs to construction and operation of a magnitude which ultimately prevented this. The existing system seems to dictate a business model which mimics existing premium backcountry lodges, a market that is already well catered to, and which still seem to be struggling to thrive in an uncertain economy and climate. On reflection working towards a dream was time well spent, and I’m glad I tried. I didn’t lose too much, I paid everyone I owed, and didn’t have to burn anyone. There’s an emptiness that will remain until I work out which direction I’m headed next, but wherever that is I’m sure it’ll involve a lot of skiing.

IMG_2176

2 Comments

Filed under Backcountry

2 responses to “No Lodge.

  1. Sarah Weinberg

    Stu, I have always loved the idea of a ski touring park. Guides optional, small outbuilding with good snacks and coffee. Ski patrol (volunteer for a pass?) and sell season passes and day tickets to the area. Provide maps, routes, guides and other services…pre-broken skin tracks by Stu?? An area with some emergency services for outdoor classes… A way to use the land without the cost of massive infrastructure and machinery. Something new….

  2. Christopher Morris

    Sorry to hear about this. You may not remember me, but I bought some DPS’s from you a couple years back, and am an avid reader of your blog. I don’t know if you’ve irreversibly spiked this yet, but I wouldn’t mind finding out about where you got to, and how close to viable it is. I’ll be in the Kootenays the last couple weeks of August and the first week of September; any chance I could come by Rossland, buy you a cup of coffee and hear about it? Chris

    From: kootenayskier <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: kootenayskier <comment+7jqc7bao9_w7hwfffpdby@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Sunday, July 26, 2015 at 7:16 AM To: R Christopher Morris <cmorris@rcmorris.com> Subject: [New post] No Lodge.

    stewspooner posted: “My dream has always been to create a simple and affordable backcountry ski lodge experience for my community, small groups of regular working people and families. However after years of planning and preparation, navigating the labyrinth of regulation, and”

Leave a Reply

