Dynafit Titan Boot Review

I have narrow and low-volume feet, and long thin legs. As a full-time skier, and having used the Raichle Flexon ski boots (a perfect fit that was confirmed in a 3D boot compatability scan) for lift serviced skiing my entire skiing life, I have high expectations for how a boot should fit and perform. To my endless frustration and disspointment, the ski touring boots available seem to have been designed for intermediate skiers with broad feet. Over the years I’ve endured and heavily modified as succession of touring boots – Raichcle Concordias, Scarpa Denalis, Scarpa Lazers, Garmont Megarides, and just last season a new pair of Garmont Radiums. Although not anticipating purchasing boots this year, this Fall I tried on a pair of the new Dynafit Titan’s, just to get sense of the fit and flex, and in a Cinderella moment, instantly knew that I had to get a pair.
The stock liners seemed suupportive and fit well un-molded,  but were a struggle to get on and off in the comfort of my living room (and would therefore be impossible in the mountains), so I’ve replaced them with some lightly used Intuition alpine overlap liners. Much easier, but which I anticipate will still be struggle to get  on after a cold night snow camping. They also lighten up the boots a bit. I swapped over the locking buckle receptors from my Garmont Radiums (a very useful little feature), and took them skiing.
These bright white boots sure do get noticed on the skin-track, with lots of skiers curious to know what I think of them. After a few days of use, they’ve met my highest expactations. They’re by far the most comfortable touring boot I’ve used. The Intuition liners haven’t even been molded for these shells (they’re molded for my Radiums) yet I’ve got no pressure points whatsover and  my heel remains locked in place at all times. I’d expected to have to punch out the shells after identifying the hot spots, (as has been necessary with all other touring boots) but that shouldn’t be necessary. The walking action is smooth and uninhibited, as efficient as any boot I’ve tried. They’re apparently a little heavier than my Radiums and Megarides, but the extra weight isn’t noticable in use. The tech binding toe-pin receptacles have proprietary guide notches to make stepping into the bindings easier, but I didn’t notice any substantive difference. The walk/ski adjustment switch is simple and effective. When descending, with only light pressure on the buckles (no cranking required), they come close to my downhill boots in performance – smooth, stiff, and supportive, inspiring confidence in challenging snow conditions. I’m excited to explore their full potential.
It’s unfortunate that the stock liners are so difficult to get on, but these are the boots I’ve been waiting 20 years for. Comfortable and easy striding, yet paradoxically delivering the highest in skiing performance.
8 Comments

Filed under Gear

8 responses to “Dynafit Titan Boot Review

  1. Glad you’re liking the boots. My very similar zzeus boots held up quite well last year and are the first AT boot I’ve actually liked. The Titans will be my next pair…

    • Jon

      As a fellow low-volume / narrow foot guy, I ran across your blog. Great info on the Titan’s–thanks.

      Could you comment on how the sizing compares to the Megarides (i.e., if I’m going to have to order the Titan’s sight unseen from a website with a no-return policy)

  2. Jo

    20 years waiting… glad to hear you found the ones. I had a moment last week and invested in the girl Gaia’s. I am conflicted over the liners; great on the up, pretty pinched on the down. I will try your idea and swap the liners.
    Ta for the tip!
    Jo

  3. Jason

    I can relate to the Raichle Flexon reference. I too have a very narrow, low volume foot and these have been the boots I buckle up for first chair and forget about until I’m back at the car…and for many seasons now.

    I’m in the same position as one of the posters above: need to know sizing reference. If I’m running a 27.0 in a Full Tilt/Flexon (308BSL) I am assuming that the 27.0 Titan (312 BSL) is the equivalent?

    • Josh M.

      I just ran across this older post. I’ve skied sz 28 Flexons for years with success. (I use an Intuition powerwrap liner with soem foam added over the foot. Otherwise I would have to really cram my foot into the 27.) I have narrow, low volume feet and fitting is a pain. I had sz 27 Megarides which were OK. Now I have 27 Zzeros which are better but still have too much volume and are too soft. I tried the 27 Titans in store and they felt very good. If you are a 27 Flexon I would try the 26 and 27 Titan. Perhaps the original poster can tell us what size Flexon he uses?

      • Joshua,

        I ski 318mm Raichle Flexons with size 10 Intuition Alpine (wrap) liners, and 28.5 Titans with slightly newer sizwe 10 Intuition Alpine (wrap) liners.

        Stewart.

  4. Pingback: Dynafit Titans – Follow Up. | kootenayskier

Leave a Reply

