Fall Shenanigans.

Golf?

No I haven’t taken up golf. Miles and I made a trip out to Fernie for their annual Poker Ride, and this was how we qualified for our bonus card atop Hyperventilation trail. It was a spectacular Fall day, and the mountains around Fernie were looking their rugged best with a dusting of snow higher up. Kurt and the local volunteers put together a really fun event, but I was expecting more from the Fernie trails. Mostly lung busting climbs followed by Old School descents, although the Slunt trail flowed through some recently buffed berms and had me smiling all the way.  I’m sure I did more hike-a-biking in this one day than the past few years combined, but cold beers and delicious kebabs in the sunshine at the after ride BBQ made it all seem worthwhile.

Roots.

Struggling to fit everthing in at the moment, Cam and I spent an afternoon clearing lines up on Granite. The paid crew appear to have doen a great job this summer, but Potsie let us know that they hadn’t been able to get onto Roots, so we did. I won’t give too much away, but if you follow our tracks you’ll find some nice lines. Off to Mexico today with a brand new 6″5″ quad-fin and an 8ft swell in the forecast.  I hope I come back to early snows accumulating on the peaks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Eclectica

Leave a Reply

