Wildhorse Powder

seth_wildhorse.jpg

Seth gasping for breath on the North Clearcut at Wildhorse. 

With at least 40cm of new snow falling on Wednesday night at Wildhorse, there were face-shots aplenty on Thursday. Although I missed what I’m sure was a great day (18cm of new snow with good visibility) on the lifts at Red, it seems people had skied themselves out, and so I had the mountain to myself today in smooth soft and surprisingly filled-in conditions. Temperatures have moderated a little, but unusually we’ve still had nothing approaching a significant warming or rain event since early December, even at Rossland’s elevation, where the snow drifts around my house have accumulated to the extent that I’m digging my way in the front door.

Leave a comment

Filed under Backcountry, Red Mountain

Leave a Reply

