Firewood for the Hut

waldie_fall.jpg

Yesterday I made a solo hike into my favorite ‘secret’ back-country hut, carrying my chainsaw. I felled a couple of dead snags, cut them into rounds and stacked them ready for a few toasty warm ski trips this winter. Much easier than doing the same after a long day of skiing, wading around in deep snow, with the light of a headlamp and only a dull axe. I hiked around the frozen lake and only encountered a few thin patches of snow, though there was more on the peaks. I can’t wait to make it back for some powder skiing.

1 Comment

Filed under Backcountry

One response to “Firewood for the Hut

  1. Michelle Laurie

    I think you got your powder eh?

Leave a Reply

